RSS

Panaderias.

17 Feb

Whitney and I have recently developed a new habit. Every day when we’re out wandering around either Antigua or San Miguel/Ciudad Vieja we always stop to get pan or pan dulce. We’ve taken a liking to a chain panaderia by our house called Vierna. For the first week we went there everyday. However, now that I have school we stop at the Panaderia that we went to with our original group.

I’ve grown particularly fond of these little cookies and dunking them in my tea when I’m at language school. I eat six or seven every day that I have school. In Guatemala, it’s normal to dunk things in your hot drinks, be it certain sandwiches, cookies, and pan.

It’s not good that I eat so many carbs and don’t have a sport like Whit has dance. So lately I’ve been following up with tons of crunches and the exercise we get from walking at least a mile everyday is helping. I’m planning on investigating another form of aerobic exercise when I have time some free time on my hands.

The food here, is like always, is absolutely fabulous! I’ve been turned on to horchata and atole, which are both sugary delicious drinks. The food here is really fresh, and it completely makes the difference from the fruit that we import in the states. Everything here is a little salty, but it is well complimented by the pan and the tortillas that are customary to eat with every meal.

The portions here are huge, and Whit and I have been struggling to clear our plates at every meal. In Guatemala, it is considered rude if you don’t finish everything on your plate so we’ve been clearing them at every meal. I have to be more diligent about going into the kitchen and helping them when they serve my plate, because I’m getting stuffed from all the food.

Love, Alex

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2011 in Guatemala

 

Leave a comment